Proofpoint Essentials Quarantine Diigest - Rebranded

Proofpoint Essentials Quarantine Digest

Let’s learn about Proofpoint Essentials Quarantine Digests:

The Proofpoint Essentials quarantine digest is an email that contains a list of emails that were quarantined by Proofpoint Essentials and, as a result, were not delivered to the intended recipient. The digest allows users to easily review emails that were quarantined and optionally, take an action such as releasing an email for delivery to the intended user.

Email classified as malicious (e.g. fraud, malware, etc.) is not included in the quarantine digest. Only emails classified as Spam or Bulk are included.

Quarantine Digest Actions

Preview

Clicking the ‘preview’ action on your quarantine digest launches a web browser where the email is safely displayed (i.e. removal of clickable links, attachments, and images) for the user to preview. This allows the user to make an informed decision about what to do with the email, such as releasing it from quarantine. Admins can remove the ‘preview’ option from Proofpoint Essentials quarantine digests for end-users if this is not desired.

Release

Clicking ‘Release’ simply releases the email from quarantine.  A released email’s content, URLs, and attachments are scanned again and then the email is delivered to the user.

Release & Approve

Releases the email from quarantine and adds the sender to the end-user’s safe sender list. Future emails from the sender will not be quarantined unless they are classified as malicious.

Block

Clicking the ‘block’ quarantine digest action will add the email sender to the user’s blocked sender list. Future emails from the sender will be quarantined.Depending on additional organization settings, such as spam settings (which opens the email content in a new tab), users may be unable to take action on certain messages. Instead, they will see the message “Contact Administrator to take action on this email”.

What does a Proofpoint Essentials quarantine digest look like?

The digest can be branded as you wish, add your corporate logo or change the notification language and appearance.

Proofpoint Essentials Quarantine Diigest - Rebranded

Update Quarantine Digest Settings

Quarantine digest settings can be applied to the entire organization or just to individual users. 

To make changes that Apply to All Users in the Organization

  1. Under Administration, click Account Management,then Digests.
  2. You see a list of possible settings and their values (see “Available Settings” below for details).
    Make any necessary changes to the settings and then do one of the following:

    • To have the changed settings be the defaults for new users, click Save.
    • To apply the changed settings to existing users, click Update Quarantine Digest settings for all existing user accounts, then click Save.

To Make Changes That Apply To A Specific User

  1. Under Administration, click User Management, then Users.
  2. Click the name of the user you wish to edit settings for.
  3. In the top menu bar, click Digests.
  4. Update the digest settings (see Settings Breakdown table below for details) as needed.

Available Settings

Proofpoint Essentials - Quarantine Digest Actions

Send Quarantine Digest

You can initiate the delivery of the quarantine digest for a specific user at any time, regardless of the settings described above.

  1. Under Administration, click User Management, then Users.
  2. Click the name of the user you wish to edit settings for.
  3. Click Digests, then Send Digest.

Preview Quarantine Digest

You can preview the contents of a quarantine digest for a specific user at anytime.

  1. Under Administration, and click User Management then Users.
  2. Click the name of the user you wish to edit settings for.
  3. From the secondary navigation panel, click Digests.
  4. Click Preview Digest.

Further reading:

Options for Handling Bulk-Email

Quarantine digest report not received

How to Release Quarantined Emails